How Many Types of Love Are There?

man and woman surrounded by grass

Love is one of the most powerful and complicated emotions we experience as human beings. But have you ever wondered how many types of love exist? It turns out there are many different ways to define and experience love, depending on the culture and context in which it’s expressed. In this blog post, we’ll explore seven types of love and what they mean.

in love, smiling man and woman wearing jackets
Photo by Tristan Le on

The Seven Types of Love

Love is a complex emotion that can’t easily be described in one word. In fact, there are many different types of love, all of which serve an essential purpose in our lives.

Each type of love serves an important purpose in our lives and has its own unique characteristics. Understanding the different types of love can help you to identify which type of love you are experiencing or aiming for in your own life.


Eros is passionate, romantic love. It is the type of love that many people think of when they hear the word “love.” This type of love is driven by strong emotions and sexual attraction. It is a deep and intense feeling of romantic longing and desire. Eros often includes physical touch and closeness, as well as emotional connection. This type of love can be fleeting and intense, or it can be long-lasting and profound. It can bring out the best in us, but it can also make us vulnerable to hurt.


Philia is a love that is based on friendship and deep affection. It is an enduring and unconditional bond between two people or even an entire group. This type of love is often associated with feelings of companionship, fondness, camaraderie, and loyalty. It is a form of love based on mutual respect and trust, and it often exists without expecting something in return. Philia can also refer to the love between family members, such as siblings, cousins, and parents. In many cases, philia can be seen as more powerful than eros or storge because it is built on the strength of friendship rather than physical attraction or blood ties. It is the type of love that can last a lifetime, and it is one of the most fulfilling and meaningful types of love that exists.


Storge is the type of love that is found between family members, such as parents and children, siblings, or cousins. This type of love is generally a deep, strong bond of affection that can span generations. It is a natural feeling of connection and commitment that allows us to care for each other without expecting anything in return. Storge can manifest itself in different ways such as physical closeness, mutual protection, shared activities, words of appreciation, and unconditional acceptance. Although storge love is not always verbalized, it can be expressed through body language and gestures. This type of love can help create a strong foundation for other relationships, such as eros and philia.


Ludus is a playful and uncommitted love, similar to a crush or infatuation. This type of love does not involve any deep commitment or long-term attachment. It is purely for the pleasure of the moment, without any expectation for the future. People in ludus love relationships often flirt and engage in lighthearted banter with each other. This type of love is often seen in young adults and teenagers as they are just beginning to explore their romantic interests. While this type of relationship can be enjoyable, it is important to remember that ludus love should not be taken too seriously, as it will likely fade away when something more serious comes along.


Pragma is a type of love characterized by practicality, sacrifice, and compromise. This type of love is often seen in long-term relationships or marriages, as couples learn to compromise and make sacrifices for the good of their relationship. Pragma love relies on respect, understanding, and mutual benefit. It’s about solving problems together and creating solutions that both partners can agree on. A couple in a pragmatic relationship will usually be quite rational when it comes to decision-making by taking into account each other’s needs and wants.


Philautia is the love you have for yourself. It’s the appreciation and respect you have for yourself and your ability to care for and nurture yourself. This form of self-love can manifest in different ways, such as taking pride in your accomplishments, celebrating your wins, and treating yourself with kindness and compassion.

Self-love isn’t just about doing things that make you feel good; it’s also about setting healthy boundaries and having realistic expectations of yourself. It involves understanding your own worth and knowing when to say no to things that aren’t in your best interest.

When you practice Philautia, you don’t compare yourself to others; instead, you learn to accept yourself for who you are. You recognize that you are a unique individual with special gifts and talents and give yourself permission to pursue your dreams and aspirations.

The more you practice self-love, the more empowered you become. You gain confidence in your decisions and feel secure knowing you are enough. Recognizing your own worth reflects in all areas of your life and helps you create meaningful relationships with those around you.

Philautia encourages self-care and is an essential part of leading a happy and fulfilling life. It’s important to take time out for yourself, honor your emotions, be mindful of what you need, and set healthy boundaries to live life on your own terms.

Self-love isn’t always easy, but it’s necessary. By taking time to nurture yourself and recognize the value of your own worth, you will be on the path to a life of joy, love, and fulfillment.


Agape is a form of love that is not necessarily based on feelings or emotions. Agape is more of a selfless, unconditional love given to another without expecting anything in return. It’s a type of love that one may experience for strangers, friends, family, and even for the world around them. It’s the kind of love that transcends physical boundaries and does not require the presence of someone else to experience it. The essence of agape love is understanding, compassion, mercy, and kindness.

Agape love is not restricted to human relationships and can be experienced by everyone. In fact, many people have experienced agape love through their relationship with God or some higher power. Agape love can also be experienced in nature as it is often associated with feelings of gratitude and appreciation for all life forms on this earth.

Agape love has been described as the highest form of love because it goes beyond any boundaries. It’s often associated with altruism and self-sacrifice, as one puts the needs of others before their own. As such, agape love can bring powerful healing effects on both individuals and society.–MM


Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount


Or enter a custom amount:


Your contribution is greatly appreciated. Thank you. All monies received will be used to help our programs’ neediest.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.


What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Kindly check out our Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram pages by clicking the icons below:



Ubuntu Village will be traveling to Africa soon and we would like to document this trip and any other trips taken in a blog format.